Branding Mechanics Rotating Header Image

Click-Thru Distribution Percentages in the SERPs

An important metric or information breakdown to keep in mind when targeting the SERP’s are the percentages of click-thru share that page audience files down to:

Number 1 receives 42.1%
Number 2 receives 11.9%
Number 3 receives 8.5%
Number 4 receives 6.1%
Number 5 receives 4.9%
Number 6 receives 4.1%
Number 7 receives 3.4%
Number 8 receives 3.0%
Number 9 receives 2.8%
Number 10 receives 3.0%

http://www.seoresearcher.com/distribution-of-clicks-on-googles-serps-and-eye-tracking-analysis.htm

Share

Setting Up XML Sitemaps for WordPress

One of the things that can really help a website in the search results is to have an XML sitemap which actively communicates with the search engines regarding content as it is createdon the website. With WordPress, and 2.7 Coltrane, setting up a sitemap is a 5 minute affair, easy as 1-2-3.

First, download the XML Sitemaps Generator plugin found here: http://www.arnebrachhold.de/projects/wordpress-plugins/google-xml-sitemaps-generator/

Once installed, you’ll need to generate the initial sitemap:

xml_sitemap_wordpress

Once this is done, you should have a sitemap page that looks like this:

arnebrachhold_wordpress

Next, you need to go to Google Webmaster Tools and submit your sitemap. If you need to set up an account, just use your gmail login.

google_webmasters_add_site

google_analytics_sitemap

Thats it! For additional great SEO plugins for WordPress, check out this link: http://mashable.com/2009/03/20/wordpress-seo-plugins/

Share

Online Article Syndication Resources List

One of the important aspects of a complete Search Engine Optimization campaign involves Link Building. An important component of Link Building can be the utilization of Article Syndication. The submitting/publishing of articles online is a great way to not only help create these inbound links, but this also gives you the authority of being published elsewhere online.

Here’s an example: http://www.goarticles.com/cgi-bin/showa.cgi?C=1303920

If you can create informative article topics to address, these articles can and do get read by the online audience that relates to your industry. Everybody would love to get published in a New York Times online article, but as few of us will have access to that level of exposure, and in many cases will be writing and pushing the content out themselves, there are alternatives online that can assist us via free article submission services.

The list compiled below I have found to be a great resource for online article submission:

Go Articles – http://www.goarticles.com/
Idea Marketers – http://www.ideamarketers.com/writers.cfm
Buzzle.com – http://www.buzzle.com/secure/become-editor.asp
EBooksnBytes – http://www.ebooksnbytes.com/articles/submit.shtml
Article Central – http://thewhir.com/find/articlecentral/suggest.asp
EzineArticles – http://ezinearticles.com/submit/
AMAzines – http://amazines.com
Article City – http://www.articlecity.com/article_submission.shtml
BPubs.com – http://www.bpubs.com/cgi/add.cgi
Business Know-How – businessknowhow.com/newsletter/articleguidelines.htm
WWIO – http://www.certificate.net/wwio/ideas.shtml
About.com – http://sbinformation.about.com/library/blsubmission.htm
NetterWeb.com – http://www.netterweb.com/articles/
Simply Search 4it – http://www.simplysearch4it.com/article/addart.php
Vector Central Marketing – http://www.vectorcentral.com/articles-form.html
Learning Folder – http://www.learningfolder.com/SubmitArticle.aspx
Knowledge Bed – http://www.knowledgebed.com/submission.html
Article Insider – http://www.articleinsider.com/start.php
Articles that Sell – http://www.articlesthatsell.com/submityourarticle.htm
Smart Ads – http://www.smartads.info/articles/
Writing Career – http://www.writingcareer.com/freearticles-submit.html

Share

Branding Mechanics Launch!

Welcome to BrandingMechanics.com – An Exploration into web design and online marketing thoughts, ideas, best practices and a forum for work examples. This is the first post!

Share